top of page
Music Production Vienna

Music Production

Study description

Music Production is now one of the most sought-after courses at VMI, which is probably due to the practical orientation of the training. The prospective music producers do not work in isolation with computer software and editing programs, but rather with active musicians, songwriters and composers from the very beginning. This immediately creates a creative process that, in combination with Recording & Engineering as well as music theory, musicology, media law and business administration courses, guarantees a comprehensive and practice-oriented education. Students are thus trained to become independent music producers who have numerous contacts to an internationally oriented community and can work for a wide variety of bands, recording studios, labels, radio stations, theaters, film productions, music production companies or concert promoters. The program is completed with a state and internationally recognized degree that entitles students to pursue further master's studies.

Study profile

The special quality of the Music Production program at VMI lies in the fact that students work in a practice-oriented manner from the very beginning and collaborate with active musicians and creative professionals in an internationally oriented community. The focus of the course is therefore not on the theoretical study of complex computer programs or million-dollar mixing consoles that you will hardly be able to operate later on, but on practice-oriented production work according to contemporary standards on the basis of affordable home studios that make it possible to produce your own productions at a professional level. This means not only to independently work out and coordinate all the necessary production steps, but also to continuously carry out musical productions until they are finished and released, in order to gain sufficient experience and to be able to work as successful music producers in a wide variety of fields.

Study focus

  •  Production and editing of music recordings and sound files;

  •  Examination of studio technology and various tools for music production;

  •  Dealing with microphoning and recording techniques in live and studio operation;

  •  Project-related and creative music and multimedia production;

  •  Digital music production, sound engineering, mixing and mastering;

  •  Occupation with effects science and possibilities for sound alienation;

  •  Use of computer programs and new media;

  •  Examination of film, TV and stage music productions;

  •  Audio engineering for live concerts and other events;

  •  Creation of production sequences and day-to-day coordination;

  •  Commercial marketing and international music collecting societies;

  •  Acquisition of music theory, media law and business management skills;

  •  Training of the musical ear and occupation with acoustics;

  •  Teaching practical and instrumental skills;

Music Production Vienna

Study Details

Start: February and September

Duration of study: 6 semesters

Credits: 192 ECTS

Prerequisites: Previous practical and theoretical knowledge, as well as an online registration for the entrance examination (audition). Persons from non-EU countries need a valid residence permit (student visa) at the beginning of their studies, which can be applied for after successful completion of the entrance examination.

Prior studies: Courses or years of study previously completed at other educational institutions may be credited toward the degree program and shorten the duration of the study accordingly.

Teachers: Training is provided by a professional team of internationally active musicians, composers, and music educators, as well as experts from the music industry, creative industries, studio technology, and musicology.

Curriculum: Study plan / Completion plan

Semester abroad: Being awarded the Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE) by the European Union enables students of the VMI to study at a partner University of the VMI within their education with financial support for the duration of 3-12 months. In addition, funded internships abroad can be completed at various European institutions and companies in the international music industry.

Degree: The program ends with a nationally and internationally recognized degree. According to the Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research, the certificates and diplomas issued by the VMI are equivalent to those of state Universities and Colleges, are comparable to a Bachelor's degree and therefore entitle the holder to pursue further master's studies*.

Follow-up studies: Within the framework of a cooperation agreement with the ICMP Institute of Contemporary Music Performance, a London-based partner University of the VMI, there is the possibility of obtaining the academic degrees of Bachelor or Master through a two-semester period of study at the ICMP, while at the same time gaining valuable experience in the musical metropolis of London.

Tuition fees:

€ 120 one-time enrollment fee

€ 450 monthly tuition fee

Details on tuition and scholarships

*Further studies at other educational institutions are subject to the availability of free study places as well as the admission requirements of the respective university or college, over which VMI naturally has no influence, but can provide assistance with applications, especially to partner universities and partner colleges.

Online registration

Online registrations for the entrance examination are basically possible at any time, free of charge and without obligation. They are used to determine prior practical-theoretical knowledge and whether this is sufficient to be accepted into the desired course of study (otherwise, alternative training options may be suggested). The entrance examinations usually take place on the following dates:

For the winter semester (start of studies in September): May/June*

For the summer semester (start of studies in February): November/December*

Details on the entrance examination

*Alternatively, other dates may be assigned.

Supporting industry partners:

download.png
334142767_743570100451651_5832534976852171531_n.png
333657680_143224945000025_6856724546458742511_n.png
334156016_439713554993741_837053997493969072_n.png
261962543_264239405742015_2274969062079162554_n.png
328324485_1373713776695224_111569554228523951_n.png
Ik_logo_Print_hexagon_headline_black_red_CMYK-min.jpg
333091601_3543362569226650_4909689838638860095_n.png
333859542_1503353696857611_3913941600513756606_n.png
316307549_1602911176829755_6514818342963569982_n.png
333907119_497047865976403_4783058314215295745_n.png
334039334_1693482891153305_4907389801509441625_n.png
334009560_627353192551727_5705434279808650236_n.png
bottom of page

Image by Techivation

Music Production

Studienbeschreibung

Music Production zählt mittlerweile zu den am meisten angestrebten Studiengängen am VMI, was vor allem an der praxisorientierten Ausrichtung der Ausbildung liegen dürfte. Denn die angehenden Musikproduzent*innen arbeiten keinesfalls isoliert mit Computersoftware und Schneideprogrammen, sondern von Beginn an mit aktiven Musiker*innen, Songwritern und Komponist*innen. Dadurch entsteht sofort ein kreativer Schaffensprozess, der in Verbindung mit Recording & Engineering sowie musiktheoretischen, musikwissenschaftlichen, medienrechtlichen und betriebswirtschaftlichen Lehrveranstaltungen eine umfassende und praxisorientierte Ausbildung garantiert. Die Studierenden werden damit zu selbstständig arbeitenden Musikproduzent*innen ausgebildet, die über zahlreiche Kontakte zu einer international ausgerichteten Community verfügen und für verschiedenste Bands, Tonstudios, Labels, Hörfunksender, Theater, Filmproduktionen, Musikproduktionsfirmen oder Konzertveranstalter tätig sein können. Abgeschlossen wird das Studium mit einem staatlich und international anerkannten Studienabschluss, der zu weiterführenden Masterstudien berechtigt.

Studienprofil

Die besondere Qualität des Studiengangs Music Production am VMI liegt darin, dass die Studierenden von Beginn an praxisorientiert arbeiten und mit aktiven Musiker*innen und Kreativschaffenden einer international ausgerichteten Community kollaborieren. Im Vordergrund des Studiums steht daher nicht die theoretische Beschäftigung mit aufwendigen Computerprogrammen oder die millionenteurer Mischpulte, die man später kaum bedienen wird, sondern eine praxisorientierte Produktionsarbeit nach zeitgemäßen Maßstäben auf Basis von erschwinglichen Homestudios, die eigene Produktionen auf professionellem Niveau ermöglichen. Dies bedeutet nicht nur alle erforderlichen Produktionsschritte selbstständig auszuarbeiten und zu koordinieren, sondern auch laufend musikalische Produktionen bis zur Entfertigung und Veröffentlichung durchzuführen, um ausreichend Erfahrung zu sammeln und als erfolgreiche Musikproduzent*innen auf unterschiedlichsten Gebieten tätig sein zu können.

Studienschwerpunkte

  •  Produktion und Bearbeitung von Musikaufnahmen und Soundfiles;

  •  Auseinandersetzung mit Studiotechnik und verschiedenen Werkzeugen zur Musikproduktion;

  •  Beschäftigung mit Mikrophonierung und Aufnahmetechniken im Live- und Studiobetrieb;

  •  Projektbezogene und kreative Musik- und Multimedia-Produktion;

  •  Digitale Musikproduktion, Sound Engeneering, Mixing und Mastering;

  •  Beschäftigung mit Effektkunde und Möglichkeiten zur Klangverfremdung;

  •  Einsatz von Computerprogrammen und Neuen Medien;

  •  Auseinandersetzung mit Film-, TV- und Bühnenmusikproduktionen;

  •  Audio Engeneering für Live-Konzerte und sonstige Events;

  •  Erstellen von Produktionsabläufen und Tageskoordinationen;

  •  Kommerzielle Vermarktung und internationale Musikverwertungsgesellschaften;

  •  Aneignung musiktheoretischer, medienrechtlicher und betriebswirtschaftlicher Kenntnisse;

  •  Schulung des musikalischen Gehörs und Beschäftigung mit Akustik;

  •  Vermittlung von praktischen und instrumentalen Fähigkeiten;

Image by Caught In Joy

Studiendetails

Studienbeginn: Februar und September

Studiendauer: 6 Semester

Credits: 240 ECTS

Voraussetzungen: Praktische und theoretische Vorkenntnisse sowie eine Online-Anmeldung zur Aufnahmeprüfung (Audition). Personen aus Nicht-EU-Ländern benötigen bei Studienbeginn eine gültige Aufenthaltsgenehmigung (Studenten-Visa), welche nach erfolgreicher Absolvierung der Aufnahmeprüfung beantragt werden kann.

Vorstudien: Bereits zuvor an anderen Bildungseinrichtungen absolvierte Lehrveranstaltungen oder Studienjahre können für das Studium angerechnet werden und die Studiendauer entsprechend verkürzen.

Lehrende: Die Ausbildung erfolgt durch ein professionelles Team von international tätigen Musiker*innen, Komponist*innen, und Musikpädagog*innen sowie Fachpersonen aus der Musikindustrie, Kreativwirtschaft, Studiotechnik und Musikwissenschaft.

Curriculum: Studienplan / Studienverlaufsplan

Stipendien: Studierende haben gemäß den gesetzlichen Bestimmungen grundsätzlich Anspruch auf staatliche Studienförderung und Stipendien. Nähere Informationen dazu erhalten Sie in unserem Studienbüro und den betreffenden Behörden (z.B. österr. Studienbeihilfebehörde, dt. BAföG usw.).

Auslandssemester: Die Verleihung der Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE) durch die Europäische Union ermöglicht Studierenden des VMI innerhalb ihrer Ausbildung mit finanzieller Unterstützung für die Dauer von 3-12 Monaten an einer Partneruniversität des VMI zu studieren. Zudem können geförderte Auslandspraktika bei verschiedenen europäischen Institutionen und Firmen der internationalen Musikwirtschaft absolviert werden.

Studienabschluss: Abgeschlossen wird das Studium mit einem staatlich und international anerkannten Studienabschluss. Die vom VMI ausgestellten Zeugnisse und Diplome sind lt. Bundesministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Forschung jenen von staatlichen Universitäten und Hochschulen gleichgestellt, mit einem Bachelorstudium vergleichbar und berechtigen daher zu weiterführenden Masterstudien*.

Anschlussstudium: Im Rahmen eines Kooperationsabkommens mit dem ICMP-Institute of Contemporary Music Performance, einer in London ansässigen Partnerhochschule des VMI, besteht die Möglichkeit, die akademischen Grade Bachelor oder Master durch eine zwei Semester dauernde Studienzeit am ICMP zu erlangen und gleichzeitig wertvolle Erfahrungen in der Musikmetropole London zu sammeln.

Studiengebühren:

€ 120 einmalige Einschreibegebühr

€ 395 monatliche Studiengebühren

Details zu Studiengebühren und Stipendien

*Weiterführende Studien an anderen Bildungseinrichtungen richten sich nach der Verfügbarkeit freier Studienplätze sowie den Aufnahmebedingungen der jeweiligen Universität oder Hochschule, auf die das VMI naturgemäß keinen Einfluss hat, aber Unterstützung bei der Bewerbung, insbesondere an Partneruniversitäten und Partnerhochschulen, leisten kann.

Online-Anmeldung

Online-Anmeldungen zur Aufnahmeprüfung sind grundsätzlich jederzeit möglich, kostenlos und unverbindlich. Sie dienen zur Feststellung von praktisch-theoretischen Vorkenntnisse und ob diese ausreichend sind, um in den gewünschten Studiengang aufgenommen zu werden (anderenfalls können auch alternative Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten vorgeschlagen werden). Die Aufnahmeprüfungen finden in der Regel zu folgenden Terminen statt:

 

Für das Wintersemester (Studienbeginn September): Mai/Juni*

Für das Sommersemester (Studienbeginn Februar): November/Dezember*

Details zur Aufnahmeprüfung

*Alternativ dazu können auch davon abweichende Termine vergeben werden.