top of page
DSC01510 (1).jpg

Guitar & bass

Conrad Schrenk - VMI

Conrad Schrenk

Conrad Schrenk studied classical guitar for 10 years and jazz guitar for 4 years in Vienna. As a guitarist who has collaborated with many greats of the international music scene, he is one of the most technically perfect guitarists in Europe. In 1993, his collaboration with US-based drummer Thomas Lang caused an international sensation with the album 'Save the robots'. The two exceptional musicians subsequently toured with numerous top international acts, such as 'Papermoon', 'The Hallucination Company' or the Austrian figurehead Falco.

At the end of 2012, the long-awaited follow-up album 'Yumaflex' was released, on which Conrad Schrenk presents a breathtaking variety of his extraordinary skills. Also noteworthy is the stylistic diversity, ranging from rock, metal and fusion to Far Eastern musical traditions as well as cleverly used jazz elements. In 2017, the exceptional guitarist was voted among the best 100 fusion guitarists in the world.

Conrad Schrenk has worked as guitarist/composer/arranger and producer with Falco, Lionel Richie, Al Jarreau, Wolfgang Ambros, Georg Danzer, STS, Wilfried, Klaus Eberhartinger, Hallucination Company, Russkaja, Stahlhammer, L'ame Immortelle, Romanes, Nouvelle Cousine, Thomas Lang, John Wetton, Napoleon "Murphy" Brock, Nouvelle Cousine Bigband, Go4it, Lew Soloff, Save the Robots, Wr. Symphoniker, Niederösterreichische Tonkünstler, RSO Vienna under David Newman, Hakim Ludin,...

Guitarist on the 2014 Grammy award winning album 'Normas'.

Tours in USA, Indonesia, France, Great Britain, Belgium, Tunisia, Denmark, Eastern Europe and others.

 

Conrad Schrenk has been teaching at VMI for about a decade and a half. As a main guitar teacher and musical director of numerous graduate ensembles, the accomplished exceptional musician is held in high esteem by students, as well as in the field of music production, which he presides over as director of studies.

The central point of my teaching concept is to lead the students to artistic independence through technical fluency and reflection on their own musical experience in relation to the rest of the musical world. The students and their performance deserve full attention in class. This increases alertness to one's own actions and gives students the opportunity to be good teachers to themselves - and perhaps later to others - through increased introspection. I see an honestly positive teacher/student relationship, borne of personal esteem, as the basis for the development of all abilities and talents. (Conrad Schrenk)

Conrad Schrenk - Gitarre
Fred Eisler - Gitarre
Fred Eisler - VMI

Studied guitar and jazz composition at Berklee College of Music and at the University of Art in Graz (Mag.art). Doctoral studies in musicology at the University of Arts Graz (PhD).


Concert activity in Austria, neighboring countries, USA, Brazil and South Africa. Composer, guitarist and bandleader of the jazz/pop ensemble Camena. Participation in the ensemble Theater an der Josefstadt, Wiener Burgtheater, Neue Oper Wien etc.

Sing & Dance & Keep it Simple! (Fred Eisler)

Fred Eisler

Vilkka Wahl - Gitarre
Vilkka Wahl - Guitarre

Vilkka Wahl

The Finnish-born guitarist, composer and educator Vilkka Wahl completed his master's degree in jazz guitar at the University of Music and Performing Arts Graz and released his first album 'Nebula' as band leader and composer with his quintet in 2017. Studied under Guido Jeszenzsky and Teemu Viinikainen as well as master classes with Peter Bernstein, John Abercrombie, Wolfgang Muthspiel, Bob Brookmeyer, Jerry Bergonzi, Jeff Ballard, Adam Nussbaum and Fred Hurst. His musical collaborations range from Jure Pukl, Severi Pyysalo, Karlheinz Miklin, Heinrich von Kalnein, Ain Agan, Manuel Dunkel, Kasperi Sarikoski to the Turku Philharmonic Orchestra. A passionate musician with international stage and studio experience, Vilkka is especially appreciated for his expressive playing and refined improvisations.

As an educator, his teaching concepts are based on traditional teaching materials on the one hand, while on the other hand the focus of his teaching lies in the autonomy and self-reflection of the students. Thus, he manages to bring forth an ideal combination of tradition and innovation that encourages and empowers students to develop artistically.

In order to be able to optimally promote the necessary motivation in the acquisition of teaching content, each student is to be regarded as an independent-creative individual. For me as a teacher, it is therefore of central importance that I can understand and comprehend what my students see as the meaning of their musical experience. In this way, teaching content can be better adapted to each individual in order to promote their further development and open up new perspectives for them. (Vilkka Wahl)

Raphael Kaefer - VMI

Raphael Käfer

Raphael Käfer studied jazz guitar in Klagenfurt, Cologne, Hamburg and Vienna and completed his education with a master's degree in jazz guitar as well as instrumental and vocal pedagogy (IGP) - both with distinction. He complemented his studies with many workshops with international greats such as Lage Lund, Jonathan Kreisberg, Barry Harris, John Ellis, Rory Stuart, Aaron Goldberg, Chris Cheek, Scott Robinson or Kevin Hays.

As a musician Raphael Käfer can look back on numerous concerts in Germany, Italy, the Czech Republic and Austria as well as various studio activities and publications. Active in various formations, he also appears again and again with his own projects, such as the "Raphael Käfer Quintet" or the "Raphael Käfer Costellation Project". His musical field is mainly jazz, jazz rock/fusion and groove, whereby openness towards traditional and new developments as well as the attempt to combine both play a major role in his musical work. Musically as well as personally, Raphael Käfer therefore pursues the goal of constant further development.

Raphael Käfer's teaching activities are characterized by two principles: on the one hand, the teaching of fundamentals that are essential for the further development of musicians and are intended to provide a deeper understanding of one's own instrument, musical listening, rhythm, timing, improvisation and technique; and on the other hand, the approach to individual goals and needs, which is intended to enable students to pursue their own goals and to further develop what they have learned individually and with pleasure.

Raphael Käfer - Gitarre
Alexnder Lackner - E-bass
Alexander Lackner - VMI

Alexander Lackner

First classical piano studies in Vienna, then jazz and classical double bass studies at the Vienna Conservatory (Dipl. 1992), Boston and Buenos Aires, since the end of the 80s freelance musician, mainly in Vienna.

Collaboration with Andy Sheppard, Lew Soloff, Willi Resetarits, Pago Libre, Dave Liebman, Die Eiserne Zeit & Christian Qualtinger, Doretta Carter, Erich Quartett & Wolfgang Muthspiel, Franz Hauzinger, Ko: er, Agnes Heginger, Ofer, Last Cab, Zipflo Weinrich, Heinz von Hermann, Dobrek Bistro, Joe Valentin, Allegre Correa, Yta Moreno, Karl Ratzer, Manhattan Tap, Michael Heltau, Adi Hirschal, Leo Lukas, Volksoper Orchestra, Musikverein Orchestra, Medellin Quartet, Max Brand Ensemble and many more. many others.

Concerts and CD productions in USA, China, Italy, Romania, Poland, Germany, France, Spain, Argentina, Switzerland, Estonia, Latvia...

Composition commissions for Burgtheater and other stage productions, Wr. Festwochen, Kultursommer Laxenburg, radio productions and many others. Alexander Lackner has been working at the VMI for about one and a half decades and is head of the study department III and VI - bass and string instruments.

Let's "argue" about music. (Alexander Lackner)

Oliver Steger - VMI

Oliver Steger

Oliver Steger, born in 1968, studied jazz double bass in Vienna and has been working as a freelance bassist, composer and producer since 1997. In 2005 he won the Amadeus Award with the nu-jazz formation 'Cafe Drechsler'. Oliver Steger is also the author (text and music) of five children's books with a focus on jazz, and his debut novel 'Jazz und Frieden' (book and CD) was published in May 2016.

His current band projects include S.O.D.A., Lil Maxine, Zoe, Triotonic, Salah Ammo Quartet or Cafe Drechsler.

For improvising musicians who are in the groove, reaching a calm time pulse while playing is an aha experience that opens ears and hearts. Only then does the previously practiced material fill with life and musicality. I have always wondered why various soloists sound better when accompanied by Marc Johnson or Charlie Haden, for example. Well, this Pulse story is, in my opinion, an answer to that question: bass on top! (Oliver Steger)

Oliver Steger - E-bass
Federico Perez - VMI

Federico Pérez Hernández

The Madrid-born bassist, singer and songwriter completed his musical education at the 'Universidad Autónoma de Madrid' (1996-2000), the 'Rotterdams Conservatorium' in the Netherlands (2001-2005) and the 'Adolfo Slazar' Conservatory of Music in Madrid (2009-2011) and has been working as a professional music educator and freelance musician since 2005.

An extremely versatile electric and double bass player, frontman and singer who has played with countless bands, Federico Pérez Hernández excels in pop, rock and jazz as well as in rhythm & blues, funk, Latin, fusion, but also flamenco or classical music. His concert tours have taken him to numerous countries, such as Bolivia, Algeria, Brazil, Panama, Costa Rica, Jordan, Belgium, France, Great Britain, Italy, Germany, Austria, Denmark, Portugal, Hungary, Croatia, the Netherlands, Switzerland or the United States of America.

In addition to countless club appearances, the grandiose bassist, who also has phenomenal vocal qualities, has also played at numerous festivals such as the 'Festval de Jazz de la Paz' in Bolivia, the 'Festival Suvremene Glazb' in Croatia, the festival 'Trieste loves Jazz' in Italy, the 'Gloucester Blues Festival' in England, the 'Piazza Blues Festival' in Switzerland, the 'Jazz á Juan' in France, the 'Festival de Blues Roses' in Spain, the 'Gevarenvinkel Blues Festival' in Belgium, the 'Baja City Festival' in Hungary, the 'Swingt Festival' in Holland, the 'Verviers Fiesta City Festival' in Belgium, the 'Festival de Blues de Bastia' in Italy, the 'Festival de Músicas de Torreperogil' in Spain, the 'Aman International Music Festival' in Jordan, the 'Festival de Cazoria' in Spain or at the BBC Radio's 'Paul Jones Show' in Great Britain.

"Try not! Do. ...or do not. There is no try." (Yoda)

Kiko - E-Bass
Tobias Vedovelli - VMI

Tobias Vedovelli

Born on August 24, 1993, Tobias Vedovelli completed his bass and composition studies in 2011 with Robert Riegler, Werner Feldgrill, Raphael Preuschl and Oliver Steger. In addition, Gerd Hermann Ortler, Clemens Salesny and Richard Graf were among his teachers.

Vedovelli currently lives in Vienna and works as an electric and double bassist as well as a composer and arranger. He looks back on collaborations with Wolfgang Puschnig, Michael Moore, the Koehne Quartet, Maria Hofstätter, Thomas Gansch, Herbert Pirker, Rolf Kühn, Yasmin Hafedh, Matthias Muche, Julian Arguelles, Martin Eberle, Ralph Mothwurf, Mira Lu Kovacs, Michael Tiefenbacher, Christian Reiner, Philipp Nykrin, Fabian Rucker, Leonhard Skorupa, Russkaja as well as countless international concert activities in Europe.

Vedovelli is co-founder of the jazz/hip-hop/spoken word band "Yasmo & die Klangkantine", founded in 2014 (festival opening Wien am Rathausplatz 2017, opening Jazzfestival Saalfelden 2017), already nominated twice for the Amadeus Austrian Music Award (2018 and 2020), awarded with the 5x5 Go Stipendium of the Province of Vorarlberg, leader of the "Quartet pol. D", co-founder of the "Ensemble Kuhle Wampe", initiator of the onQ festival and collective, and active as a bass player in, for example, the Ralph Mothwurf Orchestra, the Porgy & Bess Stage Band 2021 under Leonhard Skorupa and the Jazzorchester Vorarlberg, and received the 2021 Startstipendium of the Federal Chancellery. Vedovelli is also an official Sandberg Artist since 2017 and co-founder of the Viennese label for jazz and new music "Waschsalon Records".

"Vienna-based up-and-coming electric and double bassist Tobias Vedovelli moves light-footedly and ambitiously across countless projects in the Viennese jazz scene. In doing so, the extraordinary instrumentalist and improviser consciously and skillfully leaves reactionary musical categorizations to the left "and also impresses as a composer: Vedovelli designs rhythmically varied soundscapes in which openness prevails in many directions, from dubstep to free improvisation." (Ö1 Jazz Editorial)

Tobias - E-bass
bottom of page

DSC01510 (1).jpg

Saiteninstrumente

Conrad Schrenk - VMI

Conrad Schrenk

Conrad Schrenk studierte 10 Jahre klassische Gitarre und 4 Jahre Jazz-Gitarre in Wien. Als Gitarrist, der mit vielen Größen der internationalen Musikszene zusammengearbeitet hat, zählt er zu den technisch perfektesten Gitarristen Europas. Im Jahr 1993 erregte seine Zusammenarbeit mit dem in den USA ansässigen Drummer Thomas Lang durch das Album 'Save the robots' internationales Aufsehen. Die beiden Ausnahmemusiker tourten danach mit zahlreichen internationalen Top-Acts, wie beispielsweise 'Papermoon', 'The Hallucination Company' oder dem österreichischen Aushängeschild Falco.

Ende 2012 erschien das lang erwartete Nachfolge-Album 'Yumaflex', bei dem Conrad Schrenk eine atemberaubende Vielfalt seines ausgewöhnlichen Könnens präsentiert. Beachtenswert ist dabei auch die stilistische Vielfalt, die von Rock, Metal und Fusion bis zu fernöstlichen Musiziertraditionen sowie geschickt eingesetzten Jazzelementen reicht. 2017 wurde der Ausnahme-Gitarrist unter die besten 100 Fusion-Gitarristen der Welt gewählt.

Conrad Schrenk arbeitete als Gitarrist/Komponist/Arrangeur und Produzent mit Falco, Lionel Richie, Al Jarreau, Wolfgang Ambros, Georg Danzer, STS, Wilfried, Klaus Eberhartinger, Hallucination Company, Russkaja, Stahlhammer, L´ame Immortelle, Romanes, Nouvelle Cousine, Thomas Lang, John Wetton, Napoleon "Murphy" Brock, Nouvelle Cousine Bigband, Go4it, Lew Soloff, Save the Robots, Wr. Symphoniker, Niederösterreichische Tonkünstler, RSO Wien unter David Newman, Hakim Ludin,...

Gitarrist bei dem 2014 mit einem Grammy ausgezeichneten Album 'Normas'.

Tourneen in USA, Indonesien, Frankreich, Großbritannien, Belgien, Tunesien, Dänemark, Osteuropa u. a.

Conrad Schrenk unterrichtet seit rund eineinhalb Jahrzehnten am VMI. Als Hauptfachlehrer für Gitarre und musikalischer Leiter von zahlreichen Abschluss-Ensembles wird der versierte Ausnahmemusiker von Studierenden ebenso geschätzt, wie im Bereich der Musikproduktion, der er als Studiengangsleiter vorsteht.

Zentraler Punkt meines Unterrichtskonzeptes ist es, die Studierenden über handwerkliche Gewandtheit und Reflexion ihres eigenen musikalischen Erlebens in Bezug zur restlichen musikalischen Welt ideenreich zu künstlerischer Selbstständigkeit zu führen. Die Studierenden und ihre Leistungen verdienen im Unterricht uneingeschränkte Aufmerksamkeit. Das erhöht die Wachsamkeit dem eigenen Tun und Handeln gegenüber und gibt den Studierenden die Möglichkeit, durch gesteigerte Selbstbeobachtung sich selbst - und vielleicht später dann anderen - ein guter Lehrer zu sein. Ein ehrlich positives, von persönlicher Wertschätzung getragenes Lehrer/Schülerverhältnis sehe ich als Grundlage für die Entfaltung aller Fähigkeiten und Talente. (Conrad Schrenk)

 
 
Fred Eisler - VMI

Gitarre- und Jazzkompositionsstudium am Berklee College of Music sowie an der Kunstuniversität Graz (Mag.art). Musikwissenschaftliches Doktoratsstudium an der Kunstuniversität Graz (PhD).

Konzerttätigkeit in Österreich, dem benachbarten Ausland, USA, Brasilien und Südafrika. Komponist, Gitarrist und Bandleader des Jazz/Pop Ensembles Camena. Mitwirkung u.a. im Ensemble Theater an der Josefstadt, Wiener Burgtheater, Neue Oper Wien etc.

Sing & Dance & Keep it Simple! (Fred Eisler)

Fred Eisler

 
Vilkka Wahl - Guitarre

Vilkka Wahl

Der aus Finnland stammende Gitarrist, Komponist und Pädagoge Vilkka Wahl hat sein Masterstudium in Jazz Gitarre an der Kunstuniversität Graz abgeschlossen und veröffentlichte 2017 sein erstes Album 'Nebula' als Band-Leader und Komponist mit seinem Quintett. Studium unter Guido Jeszenzsky und Teemu Viinikainen sowie Master Classes mit Peter Bernstein, John Abercrombie, Wolfgang Muthspiel, Bob Brookmeyer, Jerry Bergonzi, Jeff Ballard, Adam Nussbaum und Fred Hurst. Seine musikalische Zusammenarbeit reicht von Jure Pukl, Severi Pyysalo, Karlheinz Miklin, Heinrich von Kalnein, Ain Agan, Manuel Dunkel, Kasperi Sarikoski bis zum Turku Philharmonic Orchestra. Als leidenschaftlicher Musiker mit internationaler Bühnen- und Studioerfahrung wird Vilkka insbesondere für seine ausdrucksvolle Spielweise und raffinierten Improvisationen geschätzt.

Als Pädagoge basieren seine Unterrichtskonzepte einerseits auf traditionellen Lehrmaterialien, andererseits liegt die Konzentration seines Unterrichts in der Autonomie und Selbstreflexion der Studierenden. Dadurch schafft er es, eine ideale Verbindung aus Tradition und Innovation hervorzubringen, die Studierende zur künstlerischen Entfaltung ermutigt und befähigt.

Um die nötige Motivation in der Aneignung von Lehrinhalten optimal fördern zu können, ist jede(r) Studierende als eigenständig-kreatives Individuum anzusehen. Für mich als Lehrer ist es daher von zentraler Bedeutung, dass ich verstehen und nachvollziehen kann, worin meine SchülerInnen den Sinn ihrer musikalischen Erfahrung sehen. Dadurch können Lehrinhalte besser an die jeweiligen Personen angepasst werden, um ihre Weiterentwicklung zu fördern und ihnen neue Perpektiven zu eröffnen. (Vilkka Wahl)

Raphael Kaefer - VMI

Raphael Käfer

Raphael Käfer studierte Jazzgitarre in Klagenfurt, Köln, Hamburg und Wien und schloss seine Ausbildung mit dem Master für Jazzgitarre sowie Instrumental- und Gesangspädagogik (IGP) - beides mit Auszeichnung - ab. Seine Studien ergänzte er durch viele Workshops mit internationalen Größen, wie z.B. Lage Lund, Jonathan Kreisberg, Barry Harris, John Ellis, Rory Stuart, Aaron Goldberg, Chris Cheek, Scott Robinson oder Kevin Hays.

Als Musiker blickt Raphael Käfer auf zahlreiche Konzerte in Deutschland, Italien, Tschechien und Österreich sowie diverse Studiotätigkeiten und Veröffentlichungen zurück. In verschiedenen Formationen aktiv, tritt er auch mit seinen eigenen Projekten, wie zum Beispiel dem "Raphael Käfer Quintett" oder dem "Raphael Käfer Costellation Project" immer wieder in Erscheinung. Sein musikalisches Tätigkeitsfeld ist hautsächlich im Jazz, Jazzrock/Fusion und Groove angesiedelt, wobei Offenheit gegenüber Traditionellem und neuen Entwicklungen sowie der Versuch, beides miteinander zu verbinden, eine große Rolle in seinem musikalischen Schaffen spielen. Musikalisch wie menschlich verfolgt Raphael Käfer daher das Ziel einer stetigen Weiterentwicklung.

Die Unterrichtstätigkeit von Raphael Käfer ist von zwei Grundsätzen geprägt: Einerseits der Vermittlung von Grundlagen, die für die weitere Entwicklung von MusikerInnen essentiell sind und ein tieferes Verständnis für das eigene Instrument, musikalisches Hören, Rhythmik, Timing, Improvisation und Technik vermitteln sollen; andererseits dem Eingehen auf individuelle Ziele und Bedüfnisse, wodurch es Studierenden ermöglicht werden soll, ihre eigenen Ziele zu verfolgen und Erlerntes individuell und lustvoll weiterzuentwickeln.

 
 
Alexander Lackner - VMI

Alexander Lackner

Zunächst klassisches Klavierstudium in Wien, dann Studium Jazz- und Klassik Kontrabass am Konservatorium Wien (Dipl. 1992), Boston und Buenos Aires, seit Ende der 80er-Jahre freischaffender Musiker, vornehmlich in Wien.

Zusammenarbeit mit Andy Sheppard, Lew Soloff, Willi Resetarits, Pago Libre, Dave Liebman, Die Eiserne Zeit & Christian Qualtinger, Doretta Carter, Erich Quartett & Wolfgang Muthspiel, Franz Hauzinger, Ko:er, Agnes Heginger, Ofer, Last Cab, Zipflo Weinrich, Heinz von Hermann, Dobrek Bistro, Joe Valentin, Allegre Correa, Yta Moreno, Karl Ratzer, Manhattan Tap, Michael Heltau, Adi Hirschal, Leo Lukas, Volksopern Orchester, Musikverein Orchester, Medellin Quartett, Max Brand Ensemble u.v.a.

Konzerte und CD-Produktionen in USA, China, Italien, Rumänien, Polen, Deutschland, Frankreich, Spanien, Argentinien, Schweiz, Estland, Lettland...

Kompositionsaufträge u.a. für Burgtheater und andere Bühnenproduktionen, Wr. Festwochen, Kultursommer Laxenburg, Rundfunkproduktionen u.ä.m. Alexander Lackner ist seit rund eineinhalb Jahrzehnten am VMI tätig und Leiter der Studienabteilung III und VI - Bass und Streichinstrumente.

Lasst uns über Musik "streiten". (Alexander Lackner)

Oliver Steger - VMI

Oliver Steger

Oliver Steger, geboren 1968, studierte Jazzkontrabass in Wien und ist seit 1997 als freischaffender Bassist, Komponist und Produzent tätig. 2005 gewann er mit der Nu-Jazz Formation 'Cafe Drechsler' den Amadeus Award. Außerdem ist Oliver Steger Autor (Text und Musik) von mittlerweile fünf Kinderbüchern mit Schwerpunkt Jazz, weiters erschien im Mai 2016 sein Debütroman 'Jazz und Frieden' (Buch und CD).

Zu seinen aktuellen Bandprojekte zählen unter anderem S.O.D.A., Lil Maxine, Zoe, Triotonic, Salah Ammo Quartet oder Cafe Drechsler.

Für improvisierende MusikerInnen, die sich mit Groove auseinandersetzen, ist das Erreichen eines ruhigen Timepulses beim Spiel ein Aha-Erlebnis, das Ohren und Herzen öffnet. Erst dann füllt sich das bisher geübte Material mit Leben und Musikalität. Ich habe mich immer wieder gefragt, warum verschiedene Solisten besser klingen, wenn sie z.B. von Marc Johnson oder Charlie Haden begleitet werden. Nun, diese Pulsgeschichte ist meiner Meinung nach eine Antwort auf diese Frage: Bass on top! (Oliver Steger)

 
Federico Perez - VMI

Federico Pérez Hernández

Der aus Madrid stammende Bassist, Sänger und Songwriter absolvierte seine musikalische Ausbildung an der 'Universidad Autónoma de Madrid' (1996-2000), am 'Rotterdams Konservatorium' in den Niederlanden (2001-2005) sowie der Hochschule für Musik 'Adolfo Slazar' in Madrid (2009-2011) und arbeitet seit 2005 als professioneller Musikpädagoge und freischaffender Musiker.

Als überaus vielseitiger E- und Kontrabassist, Frontman und Sänger, der mit unzähligen Bands gespielt hat, besticht Federico Pérez Hernández in Pop, Rock und Jazz ebenso wie in Rhythm & Blues, Funk, Latin, Fusion, aber auch Flamenco oder klassischer Musik. Seine konzertanten Reisen führten ihn in zahlreiche Länder, wie z.B. Bolivien, Algerien, Brasilien, Panama, Costa Rica, Jordanien, Belgien, Frankreich, Großbritannien, Italien, Deutschland, Österreich, Dänemark, Portugal, Ungarn, Kroatien, die Niederlande, Schweiz oder die Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika.

Neben unzähligen Club-Auftritten musizierte der grandiose Bassist, der zudem über phänomenale gesangliches Qualitäten verfügt, auch auf zahlreichen Festivals, wie z.B. dem 'Festval de Jazz de la Paz' in Bolivien, dem 'Festival Suvremene Glazb' in Kroatien, dem Festival 'Trieste loves Jazz' in Italien, dem 'Gloucester Blues Festival' in England, dem 'Piazza Blues Festival' in der Schweiz, dem 'Jazz á Juan' in Frankreich, dem 'Festival de Blues Roses' in Spanien, dem 'Gevarenvinkel Blues Festival' in Belgien, dem 'Baja City Festival' in Ungarn, dem 'Swingt Festival' in Holland, dem 'Verviers Fiesta City Festival' in Belgien, dem 'Festival de Blues de Bastia' in Italien, dem 'Festival de Músicas de Torreperogil' in Spanien, dem 'Aman International Music Festival' in Jordanien, dem 'Festival de Cazoria' in Spanien oder bei der 'Paul Jones Show' des BBC Radio in Großbitannien.

"Try not! Do. ...or do not. There is no try." (Yoda)

 
Tobias Vedovelli - VMI

Tobias Vedovelli

Geboren am 24. August 1993 absolvierte Tobias Vedovelli sein Bass- und Kompositionsstudium 2011 bei Robert Riegler, Werner Feldgrill, Raphael Preuschl und Oliver Steger. Außerdem gehörten Gerd Hermann Ortler, Clemens Salesny und Richard Graf zu seinen Lehrern.

Vedovelli lebt derzeit in Wien und arbeitet als E- und Kontrabassist sowie Komponist und Arrangeur. Er blickt auf Zusammenarbeiten mit Wolfgang Puschnig, Michael Moore, dem Koehne Quartett, Maria Hofstätter, Thomas Gansch, Herbert Pirker, Rolf Kühn, Yasmin Hafedh, Matthias Muche, Julian Arguelles, Martin Eberle, Ralph Mothwurf, Mira Lu Kovacs, Michael Tiefenbacher, Christian Reiner, Philipp Nykrin, Fabian Rucker, Leonhard Skorupa, Russkaja sowie unzählige internationale Konzertaktivitäten in Europa zurück.

Vedovelli ist Mitgründer der 2014 gegründeten Jazz/HipHop/Spoken Word-Band "Yasmo & die Klangkantine" (Festwocheneröffnung Wien am Rathausplatz 2017, Eröffnung Jazzfestival Saalfelden 2017), die bereits zweimal für den Amadeus Austrian Music Award nominiert war (2018 und 2020), ausgezeichnet mit dem 5x5 Go Stipendium des Landes Vorarlberg, Leader des "Quartetts pol.D", Mitbegründer des "Ensemble Kuhle Wampe", Initiator des onQ Festivals und Kollektivs, und als Bassist etwa im Ralph Mothwurf Orchestra, der Porgy & Bess Stage Band 2021 unter Leonhard Skorupa und dem Jazzorchester Vorarlberg aktiv und erhielt 2021 das Startstipendium des Bundeskanzleramts. Außerdem ist Vedovelli seit 2017 offizieller Sandberg-Artist und Mitgründer des Wiener Labels für Jazz und Neue Musik "Waschsalon Records".

"Der in Wien lebende aufstrebende E- und Kontrabassist Tobias Vedovelli bewegt sich leichtfüßig und ambitioniert quer durch unzählige Projekte der Wiener Jazzszene. Dabei lässt der außergewöhnliche Instrumentalist und Improvisator reaktionäre musikalische Kategorisierungen bewusst und gekonnt links liegen "und besticht zudem auch als Komponist: Vedovelli entwirft rhythmisch variantenreiche Klanglandschaften, in denen von Dubstep bis zu freier Improvisation Offenheit in vielerlei Richtungen herrscht." (Ö1 Jazzredaktion)