top of page
international.jpg

InternationaL students

Entry/Visa

Students from non-EU/EEA countries require a visa to enter Austria. Please inform yourself in time at an Austrian embassy about the entry requirements and documents you need to apply for a visa. Please submit the application for a visa or residence permit as early as possible in your home country.
For all citizens of EU/EEA countries and Switzerland, a valid passport or identity card is sufficient for entry into Austria. However, it should be noted that persons with EEA and Swiss citizenship who stay in Austria for more than three months (main and secondary residence) must apply for a registration certificate at the Immigration Office (MA 35) within four months of entry.
Short-term visa for an entrance examination: If you are traveling from abroad for an entrance examination and are not eligible for visa-free entry, you can apply for a short-term visa, for which we will gladly send you a letter of invitation.

For the invitation letter we need the following documents:

  • Web application for the entrance exam

  • Copy of your passport (first page)

  • Home address

  • Planned period in which you will come to Vienna for the entrance examination

Course language

Students and teachers from Austria, Europe and all over the world characterize the international atmosphere and ensure cultural and linguistic diversity at the VMI. Nevertheless, mastery of the German language is an important prerequisite for successful study at VMI and for coping with everyday life in Austria.

The main language of instruction for all study programs is German. For study programs with a particular international orientation, such as Songwriting, Music Production, Creative Musicianship or Electronic Music & Sound Design, individual courses are also taught in English.

Students with a non-German mother tongue who are studying Instrumental and Vocal Pedagogy must provide proof of German language skills at level B2 (CEFR) by the 2nd semester at the latest. It should be noted that the final pedagogical thesis must be written in German and the final teaching qualification examination must also be held in German. Certificates from officially recognized language institutes are recognized as proof of language proficiency.

Ukraine
Peace Protest

German courses

To provide language support for students whose native language is not German, qualified DaF/DaZ trainers offer German language courses for levels A1/A2 at the VMI if there is sufficient demand. The subsequent German courses level B1 and B2 have to be completed at external language institutes and have to be confirmed to the VMI by corresponding language certificates.

Further information and registration at: martina.beer@vmi.at

VMI in solidarity with Ukraine


The VMI stands for democratic values, openness to the world, and peaceful coexistence in a community where students from Ukraine, Russia, and a total of 25 different countries of origin share European values and cultural diversity.
We are deeply appalled by the Russian attack on Ukraine, a sovereign state in Europe. Our full solidarity and sympathy goes out to the Ukrainian people, to our Ukrainian students and their families, but also to our Russian students who are also blamelessly at the mercy of this political drama.

Dear students!
We know that the dramatic war events in Ukraine are a great burden for many in our student community. We are here to support you! If you are in any way affected by the current crisis in Ukraine and need help, please do not hesitate to contact us:
International Office: martina.beer@vmi.at

bottom of page

international.jpg

InternationaLE Studierende

Einreise/Visum

Studierende aus Nicht-EU/EWR-Staaten benötigen zur Einreise nach Österreich ein Visum. Bitte informieren Sie sich rechtzeitig bei einer österreichischen Botschaft über die Einreisebedingungen und Dokumente, die Sie zur Beantragung eines Visums benötigen. Bitte reichen Sie den Antrag auf ein Visum oder Aufenthaltsgenehmigung so früh wie möglich in Ihrem Heimatland ein.
Für alle StaatsbürgerInnen aus EU/EWR-Ländern und der Schweiz genügt zur Einreise nach Österreich ein gültiger Reisepass oder Personalausweis. Es ist jedoch zu beachten, dass Personen mit EWR-und Schweizer Staatsbürgerschaft, die sich länger als drei Monate in Österreich aufhalten (Haupt- und Nebenwohnsitz) innerhalb von vier Monaten ab Einreise eine Anmeldebescheinigung bei der Einwanderungsbehörde (MA 35) beantragen müssen.
Kurzfristiges Visum für eine Aufnahmeprüfung: Falls Sie aus dem Ausland zur Aufnahemprüfung anreisen und und nicht zur visumfreien Einreise berechtigt sind, können Sie ein kurzfristiges Visum beantragen, wofür wir Ihnen gerne ein Einladungsschreiben zukommen lassen.

Für das Einladungsschreiben benötigen wir folgende Unterlagen:

  • Web-Anmeldung zur Aufnahmeprüfung

  • Kopie Ihres Reisepasses (erste Seite)

  • Heimatadresse

  • Geplanter Zeitraum, in dem Sie zur Aufnahmeprüfung nach Wien kommen

Unterrichtssprache

Studierende und Lehrende aus Österreich, Europa und aus aller Welt prägen die internationale Atmosphäre und sorgen für kulturelle und sprachliche Vielfalt am VMI. Gleichwohl stellt die Beherrschung der deutschen Sprache eine wichtige Voraussetzung für ein erfolgreiches Studium am VMI und für die Bewältigung des Lebensalltags in Österreich dar.

Die Hauptunterrichtssprache ist für alle Studienprogramme grundsätzlich Deutsch. Bei Studiengängen mit besonderer internationaler Ausrichtung wie z.B. Songwriting, Music Production, Creative Musicianship oder Elektronische Musik & Sound Design werden einzelne Lehrveranstaltungen auch in englischer Sprache durchgeführt.

Studierende mit nicht deutscher Muttersprache, die ein Instrumental- und Gesangspädagogik-Studium absolvieren, haben bis spätestes nach dem 2. Semester einen Nachweis von Deutsch-Sprachkenntnissen auf Niveau B2 (GERS) zu erbringen. Es ist zu beachten, dass die pädagogische Abschlussarbeit in deutscher Sprache zu verfassen ist und die abschließende Lehrbefähigungsprüfung ebenso in deutscher Sprache zu halten ist. Als Sprachnachweise werden Zertifikate von offiziell anerkannten Sprachinstituten anerkannt.

 
Peace Protest

Deutschkurse

Zur sprachlichen Unterstützung von Studierenden mit nicht deutscher Muttersprache werden bei entsprechender Nachfrage Deutsch-Sprachkurse für Level A1/A2 von qualifizierten DaF/DaZ-Trainer*innen am VMI angeboten. Die darauf aufbauenden Deutschkurse Level B1 und B2 sind anschließend an externen Sprachinstituten zu absolvieren und durch entsprechende Sprachzertifikate dem VMI zu bestätigen.

Nähere Informationen und Anmeldung unter: martina.beer@vmi.at

VMI in Solidarität mit der Ukraine

Das VMI steht für demokratische Werte, Weltoffenheit und ein friedliches Miteinander in einer Gemeinschaft, in der Studierende aus der Ukraine, aus Russland und aus insgesamt 25 verschiedenen Herkunftsländern europäische Werte und kulturelle Vielfalt miteinander teilen.
Wir sind zutiefst entsetzt über den russischen Angriff auf die Ukraine, einem souveränen Staat in Europa. Unsere uneingeschränkte Solidarität und unser Mitgefühl richtet sich an die ukrainische Bevölkerung, an unsere ukrainischen Studierenden und ihre Familien, aber auch an unsere russischen Studierenden, die diesem politischen Drama ebenfalls schuldlos ausgeliefert sind.

Liebe Studierende!
Wir wissen, dass die dramatischen Kriegsereignisse in der Ukraine für viele in unserer Studierendengemeinschaft eine große Belastung darstellt. Wir sind hier, um Sie zu unterstützen! Wenn Sie in irgendeiner Weise von der aktuellen Krise in de Ukraine betroffen sind und Hilfe benötigen, zögern Sie nicht, mit uns in Kontakt zu treten:
International Office: martina.beer@vmi.at

Das BMBWF unterstützt ukrainische Studierende mit einem eigenen Sonderstipendium: Ernst Mach-Stipendium UKRAINE