top of page
Study in Vienna

Study in Vienna

Music City Vienna

Top ranking worldwide
In international rankings, the megacity of Vienna regularly occupies a top place among the world's most livable major cities. Vienna also boasts the status of a world cultural heritage site - a distinction that only two other capitals in the world (Rome and Prague) share with the Austrian metropolis.

Liveable big city
Although Vienna, a city of over a million inhabitants, is the most populous city in Austria, the second largest in the German-speaking world and the sixth-largest city in the European Union, it is one of the most livable cities in the world. Numerous green spaces and parks, as well as extensive local recreation areas in combination with a historic old town, favor the high quality of life. In addition, Vienna offers a diverse range of art and culture, numerous historic buildings and sites, important stages and museums, traditional coffee houses and restaurants, lively shopping streets and extensive shopping centers, modern districts with well-developed infrastructures, a comprehensive public transport network, and numerous bike paths, as well as an extremely lively and young scene that likes to meet at the Danube Canal or the MuseumsQuartier.

City of music
For the domestic and international music scene, Vienna, which can look back on an almost incomparable musical tradition, offers countless smaller and larger clubs as well as several event halls and stadiums that are not missing from any tour schedule of the international top acts. One of the largest open-air music festivals in Europe is held annually on the Danube Island, which can be visited over several days with free admission. Numerous musical and theater stages, cinemas and other leisure activities complement the city's rich cultural offerings.

VMI live
The VMI organizes smaller and larger concerts for its students at regular intervals in various clubs in the city. At the end of each semester, for example, the so-called "VMI Final Concerts", which have already taken place on almost every stage in the city, and for years have been held at the "Porgy & Bess". This location is one of the most beautiful and renowned jazz and music clubs in Europe, offers daily concerts with local and international musicians and is located in Vienna's 1st district, close to St. Stephen's Cathedral and Kärtnerstraße. In addition, VMI organizes competitions, student projects and music festivals.

Bands & Projects

  • House of Europe: The application deadline for 2022 for this international project has unfortunately already expired!

  • Heinz Frank: Application to markus.gottschlich@vmi.at 

  • Erasmus+ Semester Abroad and Internship: Application to martina.beer@vmi.at

  • Liberation Orchestra: VMI alumnus Ron Oppenheim is looking for a singer and a drummer for his orchestra. You can find more information here.

Student Residences

  • STUWO (Auf der Schmelz 12, 1150 Vienna): STUWO is a non-profit student housing company and aims to provide student dormitories with modern facilities. By integrating the dormitories into housing complexes, a quiet and friendly atmosphere is provided. These dormitories can be used by both Austrian and international students. https://www.stuwo.at

  • Music Student House Neustiftgasse (Neustiftgasse 141, 1070 Vienna): The Music Student House is centrally located and offers a low user fee, a roof terrace, several music practice rooms directly on site, as well as free WLAN / LAN and DVB-C TV connections. The subway, streetcar and bus are just around the corner and the museum district is also not far.

  • OeAD-WohnraumverwaltungsGmbH (Sechshauser Straße 31, 1150 Vienna): The OeAD-WohnraumverwaltungsGmbH provides 9 OeAD guest houses and additional places in other student residences. The OeAD guest houses can only be booked by international students.

  • Student dormitory WIHAST (Starkfriedgasse 15, 1180 Vienna): For students who are looking for simple and inexpensive accommodation with rehearsal space.

Private accommodation/shared apartments

It is also possible to share a private apartment with other students. The rent for a room in a shared apartment (WG) is usually between € 300 - € 400 per month (deposit up to 3 months rent). 

Short-term accommodation

If you are only looking for accommodation for a few days (because, for example, you cannot move into your apartment or room immediately after your arrival), youth hostels are a good alternative to bridge this time. In most hostels breakfast and bed linen are included in the price, but you have to bring your own towels. Among others, there are the following youth hostels in Vienna: 

bottom of page

Study in Vienna

Studieren in Wien

Musikstadt Wien

Weltweites Top-Ranking
Im internationalen Ranking nimmt die Millionenstadt Wien regelmäßig einen Top-Platz unter den lebenswertesten Großstädten der Welt ein. Darüber hinaus kann Wien mit dem Status eines Weltkulturerbes aufwarten - eine Auszeichnung, die sich weltweit nur zwei andere Hauptstädte (Rom und Prag) mit der österreichischen Metropole teilen dürfen

Lebenswerte Großstadt
Obwohl die Millionenstadt Wien die bevölkerungsreichste Stadt Österreichs, die zweitgrößte im deutschsprachigen Raum und die sechsgrößte Stadt der Europäischen Union darstellt, zählt sie zu den lebenswertesten Städten der Welt. Zahlreiche Grünflächen und Parks sowie ausgedehnte Naherholungsgebiete in Verbindung mit einer historischen Altstadt begünstigen die hohe Lebensqualität. Zudem bietet Wien ein vielfältiges Kunst- und Kulturangebot, zahlreiche historische Gebäude und Stätten, bedeutende Bühnen und Museen, traditionsreiche Kaffeehäuser und Restaurants, belebte Einkaufsstraßen und weitläufige Shopping-Center, moderne Stadtteile mit gut ausgebauten Infrastrukturen, ein umfassendes öffentliches Verkehrsnetz und zahlreiche Radwege sowie eine überaus lebendige und junge Szene, die sich gerne am Donaukanal oder dem Museumsquartier trifft.

Stadt der Musik
Für die heimische und internationale Musikszene bietet Wien, das auf eine nahezu unvergleichliche Musiktradition zurückblicken kann, unzählige kleinere und größere Clubs sowie mehrere Veranstaltungshallen und Stadien, die in keinem Tourneeplan der internationalen Top-Acts fehlen. Auf der Donauinsel findet alljährlich eines der größten Open-Air-Musikfestivals Europas statt, das über mehrere Tage hinweg bei freiem Eintritt besucht werden kann. Zahlreiche Musical- und Theaterbühnen, Kinos und sonstige Freizeitangebote ergänzen das reichhaltige Kulturangebot der Stadt.

VMI live
Das VMI organisiert für seine Studierenden in regelmäßigen Abständen kleinere und größere Konzerte in verschiedenen Clubs der Stadt. Zu jedem Semesterende finden beispielsweise die so genannten "VMI Final Concerts", die bereits auf nahezu allen Bühnen der Stadt stattgefunden haben, und seit Jahren im "Porgy & Bess" statt. Diese Location zählt zu den schönsten und renommiertesten Jazz- und Music-Clubs in ganz Europa, bietet tägliche Konzerte mit heimischen und internationalen Musiker*innen und befindet sich im 1. Bezirk von Wien, in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Stephansdom und der Kärtnerstraße. Ergänzend dazu werden auch immer wieder Competitions, Studentenprojekte oder Musikfestivals vom VMI organisiert.
 

Bands & Projekte

  • House of Europe: Die Anmeldefrist für 2022 zu diesem internationalen Projekt ist leider bereits abgelaufen!

  • Heinz Frank: Bewerbung an markus.gottschlich@vmi.at 

  • Erasmus+ Auslandssemester und Praktikum: Bewerbung an martina.beer@vmi.at

  • Liberation Orchestra: VMI-Absolvent Ron Oppenheim sucht für sein Orchester eine Sängerin und einen Schlagzeuger. Nähere Informationen dazu finden Sie hier.

Studentenwohnheime

  • STUWO (Auf der Schmelz 12, 1150 Wien): Die STUWO ist eine gemeinnützige Studentenwohnheimgesellschaft und hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, Studentenwohnheime in moderner Ausstattung bereitzustellen. Durch die Integration der Wohnheime in Wohnanlagen ist eine ruhige und freundliche Atmosphäre gegeben. Diese Heime können sowohl von österreichischen als auch von internationalen Studierenden genutzt werden. https://www.stuwo.at

  • Music Student House Neustiftgasse (Neustiftgasse 141, 1070 Wien): Das Musikschülerhaus ist zentral gelegen und bietet neben einer günstigen Nutzungsgebühr eine Dachterrasse, mehrere Musikübungsräume direkt vor Ort sowie kostenloses WLAN / LAN und DVB-C TV-Anschlüsse. Die U-Bahn, die Straßenbahn und der Bus sind gleich um die Ecke und auch das Museumsviertel ist nicht weit.

  • OeAD-WohnraumverwaltungsGmbH (Sechshauser Straße 31, 1150 Wien): Die OeAD-WohnraumverwaltungsGmbH stellt 9 Gästehäuser des OeAD und weitere Plätze in anderen Studentenwohnheimen zur Verfügung. Die OeAD-Gästehäuser können nur von internationalen Studierenden gebucht werden.

  • Studentenwohnheim WIHAST (Starkfriedgasse 15, 1180 Wien): Für Studierende, die eine einfache und günstige Unterkunft mit Proberaum suchen.

Privatunterkünfte/Wohngemeinschaften

Es besteht auch die Möglichkeit, eine private Wohnung mit anderen Studierenden zu teilen. Die Miete für ein Zimmer in einer Wohngemeinschaft (WG) liegt in der Regel zwischen € 300 - € 400 pro Monat (Kaution bis zu 3 Monatsmieten). 

Kurzzeit-Unterkünfte

Wenn Sie nur eine Unterkunft für ein paar Tage suchen (da Sie z. B. nicht sofort nach Ihrer Ankunft in Ihre Wohnung oder Ihr Zimmer einziehen können), sind Jugendherbergen eine gute Alternative, um diese Zeit zu überbrücken. In den meisten Jugendherbergen sind Frühstück und Bettwäsche im Preis inbegriffen, Handtücher müssen Sie jedoch selbst mitbringen. Es gibt unter anderem die folgenden Jugendherbergen in Wien: