top of page

Preparatory course

Vorstudium

Study description

The pre-study program provides focused preparation for the intended major course of study. It includes instruction in the chosen major subject, as well as in the supplementary subjects of ensemble, harmony, and ear training. As a result, students receive preparatory training in the essential areas necessary for admission to the intended major. Because of the targeted training and preparation, students can often continue in the major program after only 1-2 semesters of preliminary study.

Study focus  
 

  • Learning practical skills in the chosen field

  • Imparting knowledge of music theory

  • Training of the musical ear

  • Introduction to working with ensembles

  • Acquisition of technical and rhythmic skills

  • Examination of different styles

VMI - Vorstuditum

 

Study Details

Start of studies: February and September

Duration of study: 2-4 semesters

Prerequisites: Practical and theoretical previous knowledge as well as online registration for the entrance examination (audition). Persons from non-EU countries require a valid residence permit (student visa) at the beginning of their studies, which can be applied for after successful completion of the entrance examination.

Instructors: The training is provided by a professional team of internationally active musicians, composers, and music educators as well as experts from the music industry, creative industries, studio technology, and musicology.

Curriculum: Study plan / Completion plan

Degree: Preliminary studies are usually completed after 2-4 semesters by transferring to a main study program*.

Tuition:

€ 120 one-time enrollment fee

€ 250 monthly tuition fee


Details on tuition and scholarships

*Transfer to a main study program does not require a new completion of the entrance examination, but only an application in this regard, which can be submitted at the end of each semester. After approval by the responsible main subject and ensemble teacher as well as the program and institute management, the training can be continued in the respective main study program.

 

Online registration

Online registrations for the entrance examination are possible any time, free of charge and without obligation. They are used to determine prior practical-theoretical knowledge and whether this suffices to be accepted into the desired course of study (otherwise, alternative training options may be suggested). The entrance examinations usually take place on the following dates:

For the winter semester (start of studies in September): May/June*

For the summer semester (start of studies in February): November/December*

Details on the entrance examination

*Alternatively, other dates may be assigned.

Supporting industry partners:

download.png
334142767_743570100451651_5832534976852171531_n.png
333657680_143224945000025_6856724546458742511_n.png
334156016_439713554993741_837053997493969072_n.png
261962543_264239405742015_2274969062079162554_n.png
328324485_1373713776695224_111569554228523951_n.png
Ik_logo_Print_hexagon_headline_black_red_CMYK-min.jpg
333091601_3543362569226650_4909689838638860095_n.png
333859542_1503353696857611_3913941600513756606_n.png
316307549_1602911176829755_6514818342963569982_n.png
333907119_497047865976403_4783058314215295745_n.png
334039334_1693482891153305_4907389801509441625_n.png
334009560_627353192551727_5705434279808650236_n.png
bottom of page

Vorstudium

Vorstudium

Studienbeschreibung

Das Vorstudium bietet eine zielgerichtete Vorbereitung auf den angestrebten Hauptstudiengang. Es umfasst die Schulung im gewählten Hauptfach sowie in den Ergänzungsfächern Ensemble, Harmonielehre und Gehörschulung. Die Schüler*innen erhalten dadurch eine vorbereitende Ausbildung in den wesentlichen Bereichen, die für eine Aufnahme in den angestrebten Hauptstudiengang notwendig sind. Aufgrund der gezielten Schulung und Vorbereitung kann die Ausbildung oftmals schon nach 1-2 Semester Vorstudium im Hauptstudiengang fortgesetzt werden.

Studienschwerpunkte

  • Erlernen von praktischen Fähigkeiten im gewählten Fachbereich;

  • Vermittlung von musiktheoretischen Kenntnissen;

  • Schulung des musikalischen Gehörs;

  • Einführung in die Zusammenarbeit mit Ensembles;

  • Aneignung technischer und rhythmischer Fähigkeiten;

  • Auseinandersetzung mit verschiednen Stilistiken;

Image by Marco Mons

 

Studiendetails


Studienbeginn: Februar und September

Studiendauer: 2-4 Semester

Voraussetzungen: Praktische und theoretische Vorkenntnisse sowie eine Online-Anmeldung zur Aufnahmeprüfung (Audition). Personen aus Nicht-EU-Ländern benötigen bei Studienbeginn eine gültige Aufenthaltsgenehmigung (Studenten-Visa), welche nach erfolgreicher Absolvierung der Aufnahmeprüfung beantragt werden kann.

Lehrende: Die Ausbildung erfolgt durch ein professionelles Team von international tätigen Musiker*innen, Komponist*innen, und Musikpädagog*innen sowie Fachpersonen aus der Musikindustrie, Kreativwirtschaft, Studiotechnik und Musikwissenschaft.

Curriculum: Studienplan / Studienverlaufplan

Studienabschluss: Abgeschlossen wird das Vorstudium in der Regel nach 2-4 Semestern durch den Übertritt in ein Hauptstudium*.

Studiengebühren:

€ 120 einmalige Einschreibegebühr

€ 250 monatliche Studiengebühren

Details zu Studiengebühren und Stipendien

*Für den Übertritt in ein Hauptstudium ist keine neuerliche Absolvierung der Aufnahmeprüfung erforderlich, sondern lediglich ein diesbezüglicher Antrag, der mit jedem Semesterende gestellt werden kann. Nach Befürwortung des zuständigen Hauptfach- und Ensemblelehrers sowie der Studiengangs- und Institutsleitung kann die Ausbildung im betreffenden Hauptstudium fortgesetzt werden.

 

Online-Anmeldung

Online-Anmeldungen zur Aufnahmeprüfung sind grundsätzlich jederzeit möglich, kostenlos und unverbindlich. Sie dienen zur Feststellung von praktisch-theoretischen Vorkenntnisse und ob diese ausreichend sind, um in das Vorstudium aufgenommen zu werden. Die Aufnahmeprüfungen finden in der Regel zu folgenden Terminen statt:

 

Für das Wintersemester (Studienbeginn September): Mai/Juni*

Für das Sommersemester (Studienbeginn Februar): November/Dezember*

Details zur Aufnahmeprüfung

*Alternativ dazu können auch davon abweichende Termine vergeben werden.