top of page
Medienkomposition Studium Wien

Media Composition

Study description

The Media Composition program trains students to become professional media composers and creative artists in various media contexts. The course content covers practical application areas of modern media composition and combines these with music theory, musicology, studio technology, marketing, instrumental instruction, and various arranging and programming techniques. Students acquire the ability to create independent media compositions, arrangements and programming and to work out artistic ideas professionally in order to be able to work for various media areas and clients, such as film music, video clips, advertising, computer games, etc., after graduation. The program ends with a nationally and internationally recognized degree that entitles the student to pursue further master's studies.

Study profile

The main focus of this study program is a creative musical-media compositional education with a focus on electronic and contemporary media, which open up a broad and promising field of professional activity. As in all other VMI degree programs, the Media Composition program places great emphasis on fostering creativity and practice. The integration into an internationally oriented community of active musicians and students as well as teachers from the fields of music production and music management also offers a wide variety of opportunities for development and participation in different creative processes and music projects.

Study focus

  •  Creation of own media compositions for various fields of application;

  •  Learning basic and advanced composition and arrangement rules;

  •  Examination of programming techniques, sound editing and sound design;

  •  Acquisition of general musical as well as music-theoretical-scientific knowledge;

  •  Study of melodic, harmonic and rhythmic structures;

  •  Training of the musical ear and study of acoustics;

  •  Study of media law, management and marketing;

  •  Mechanisms of the music industry and business strategies in the entertainment industry;

  •  Occupation with art and cultural studies as well as scientific work;

  •  Work with computer-aided composition techniques and multimedia;

  •  Examination of new media and film music;

  •  Acquisition of knowledge in composition, counterpoint and orchestration;

  •  Study of studio and recording techniques and microphonics;

  •  Acquisition of compositional and practical artistic skills on the piano;

Medienkomposition Studium Wien

Study Details

Start: February and September

Duration of study: 6 semesters

Credits: 183 ECTS

Prerequisites: Previous practical and theoretical knowledge, as well as an online registration for the entrance examination (audition). Persons from non-EU countries need a valid residence permit (student visa) at the beginning of their studies, which can be applied for after successful completion of the entrance examination.

Prior studies: Courses or years of study previously completed at other educational institutions may be credited toward the degree program and shorten the duration of the study accordingly.

Teachers: Training is provided by a professional team of internationally active musicians, composers, and music educators, as well as experts from the music industry, creative industries, studio technology, and musicology.

Curriculum: Study plan / Completion plan
 

Semester abroad: Being awarded the Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE) by the European Union enables students of the VMI to study at a partner University of the VMI within their education with financial support for the duration of 3-12 months. In addition, funded internships abroad can be completed at various European institutions and companies in the international music industry.

Degree: The program ends with a nationally and internationally recognized degree. According to the Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research, the certificates and diplomas issued by the VMI are equivalent to those of state Universities and Colleges, are comparable to a Bachelor's degree and therefore entitle the holder to pursue further master's studies*.

Follow-up studies: Within the framework of a cooperation agreement with the ICMP Institute of Contemporary Music Performance, a London-based partner University of the VMI, there is the possibility of obtaining the academic degrees of Bachelor or Master through a two-semester period of study at the ICMP, while at the same time gaining valuable experience in the musical metropolis of London.

Tuition fees:

€ 120 one-time enrollment fee

€ 450 monthly tuition fee

Details on tuition and scholarships

*Further studies at other educational institutions are subject to the availability of free study places as well as the admission requirements of the respective university or college, over which VMI naturally has no influence, but can provide assistance with applications, especially to partner universities and partner colleges.

Online registration

Online registrations for the entrance examination are basically possible at any time, free of charge and without obligation. They are used to determine prior practical-theoretical knowledge and whether this is sufficient to be accepted into the desired course of study (otherwise, alternative training options may be suggested). The entrance examinations usually take place on the following dates:

For the winter semester (start of studies in September): May/June*

For the summer semester (start of studies in February): November/December*

Details on the entrance examination

*Alternatively, other dates may be assigned.

Supporting industry partners:

download.png
334142767_743570100451651_5832534976852171531_n.png
333657680_143224945000025_6856724546458742511_n.png
334156016_439713554993741_837053997493969072_n.png
261962543_264239405742015_2274969062079162554_n.png
328324485_1373713776695224_111569554228523951_n.png
Ik_logo_Print_hexagon_headline_black_red_CMYK-min.jpg
333091601_3543362569226650_4909689838638860095_n.png
333859542_1503353696857611_3913941600513756606_n.png
316307549_1602911176829755_6514818342963569982_n.png
333907119_497047865976403_4783058314215295745_n.png
334039334_1693482891153305_4907389801509441625_n.png
334009560_627353192551727_5705434279808650236_n.png
bottom of page

Image by Rezli

MEDIENKOMPOSITION

Studienbeschreibung

Der Studiengang Medienkomposition bildet Studierende zu professionellen Medienkomponisten und Kreativschaffenden im Bereich verschiedener medialer Kontexte aus. Die Lehrinhalte umfassen praktische Anwendungsbereiche der modernen Medienkomposition und verbinden diese mit Musiktheorie, Musikwissenschaft, Studiotechnik, Marketing, Instrumentalunterricht sowie verschiedene Arrangier- und Programmiertechniken. Die Studierenden erlangen dadurch die Fähigkeit, eigenständige Medienkompositionen, Arrangements und Programmierungen zu kreieren und künstlerische Ideen professionell auszuarbeiten, um nach Absolvierung des Studiums für verschiedenste mediale Bereiche und Auftraggebertätig, wie z.B. Filmmusik, Videoclips, Werbung, Computerspiele u.ä., tätig zu sein. Abgeschlossen wird das Studium mit einem staatlich und international anerkannten Studienabschluss, der zu weiterführenden Masterstudien berechtigt.

Studienprofil

Der Schwerpunkt dieses Studiengangs liegt in einer kreativen musikalisch-medienkompositorischen Ausbildung mit Fokussierung auf elektronische und zeitgemäße Medien, die ein breites und zukunftsträchtiges berufliches Betätigungsfeld eröffnen. Wie in allen anderen Studiengängen des VMI wird auch im Studiengang Medienkomposition der Förderung der Kreativität und Praxis ein großer Stellenwert zugeschrieben. Die Einbindung in eine international ausgerichteten Community von aktiven Musiker*innen und Studierenden wie Lehrenden aus den Bereichen Musikproduktion und Musikmanagement bietet zudem verschiedenste Entfaltungsmöglichkeiten und Partizipationen an unterschiedlichen Entstehungsprozessen und Musikprojekten.

Studienschwerpunkte

  •  Erstellen eigener Medienkompositionen für verschiedene Anwendungsbereiche;

  •  Erlernen grundlegender und erweiterter Kompositions- und Arrangementregeln;

  •  Auseinandersetzung mit Programmiertechnik, Klangbearbeitung und Sounddesign;

  •  Aneignung allgemein-musikalischer sowie musiktheoretisch-wissenschaftlicher Kenntnisse;

  •  Beschäftigung mit melodischen, harmonischen und rhythmischen Strukturen;

  •  Schulung des musikalischen Gehörs und Beschäftigung mit Akustik;

  •  Auseinandersetzung mit Medienrecht, Management und Marketing;

  •  Mechanismen der Musikindustrie und Business Strategien in der Unterhaltungsindustrie;

  •  Beschäftigung mit Kunst- und Kulturwissenschaft sowie wissenschaftlichem Arbeiten;

  •  Arbeit mit computerunterstützten Kompositionstechniken und Multimedia;

  •  Auseinandersetzung mit Neuen Medien und Filmmusik;

  •  Wissenserwerb in Tonsatz, Kontrapunkt und Orchestrierung;

  •  Beschäftigung mit Studio- und Aufnahmetechnik sowie Mikrophonierung;

  •  Erwerb kompositorischer und praktisch-künstlerischer Fertigkeiten am Klavier;

Image by Caught In Joy

Studiendetails

Studienbeginn: Februar und September

Studiendauer: 6 Semester

Credits: 240 ECTS

Voraussetzungen: Praktische und theoretische Vorkenntnisse sowie eine Online-Anmeldung zur Aufnahmeprüfung (Audition). Personen aus Nicht-EU-Ländern benötigen bei Studienbeginn eine gültige Aufenthaltsgenehmigung (Studenten-Visa), welche nach erfolgreicher Absolvierung der Aufnahmeprüfung beantragt werden kann.

Vorstudien: Bereits zuvor an anderen Bildungseinrichtungen absolvierte Lehrveranstaltungen oder Studienjahre können für das Studium angerechnet werden und die Studiendauer entsprechend verkürzen.

Lehrende: Die Ausbildung erfolgt durch ein professionelles Team von international tätigen Musiker*innen, Komponist*innen, und Musikpädagog*innen sowie Fachpersonen aus der Musikindustrie, Kreativwirtschaft, Studiotechnik und Musikwissenschaft.

Curriculum: Studienplan / Studienverlaufsplan

Studienförderungen und Stipendien: Studierende haben gemäß den gesetzlichen Bestimmungen grundsätzlich Anspruch auf staatliche Studienförderung und Stipendien. Nähere Informationen dazu erhalten Sie in unserem Studienbüro und den betreffenden Behörden (z.B. österr. Studienbeihilfebehörde, dt. BAföG usw.).

Auslandssemester: Die Verleihung der Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE) durch die Europäische Union ermöglicht Studierenden des VMI innerhalb ihrer Ausbildung mit finanzieller Unterstützung für die Dauer von 3-12 Monaten an einer Partneruniversität des VMI zu studieren. Zudem können geförderte Auslandspraktika bei verschiedenen europäischen Institutionen und Firmen der internationalen Musikwirtschaft absolviert werden.

Studienabschluss: Abgeschlossen wird das Studium mit einem staatlich und international anerkannten Studienabschluss. Die vom VMI ausgestellten Zeugnisse und Diplome sind lt. Bundesministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Forschung jenen von staatlichen Universitäten und Hochschulen gleichgestellt, mit einem Bachelorstudium vergleichbar und berechtigen daher zu weiterführenden Masterstudien*.

Anschlussstudium: Im Rahmen eines Kooperationsabkommens mit dem ICMP-Institute of Contemporary Music Performance, einer in London ansässigen Partnerhochschule des VMI, besteht die Möglichkeit, die akademischen Grade Bachelor oder Master durch eine zwei Semester dauernde Studienzeit am ICMP zu erlangen und gleichzeitig wertvolle Erfahrungen in der Musikmetropole London zu sammeln.

Studiengebühren:

€ 120 einmalige Einschreibegebühr

€ 395 monatliche Studiengebühren

Details zu Studiengebühren und Stipendien

*Weiterführende Studien an anderen Bildungseinrichtungen richten sich nach der Verfügbarkeit freier Studienplätze sowie den Aufnahmebedingungen der jeweiligen Universität oder Hochschule, auf die das VMI naturgemäß keinen Einfluss hat, aber Unterstützung bei der Bewerbung, insbesondere an Partneruniversitäten und Partnerhochschulen, leisten kann.

Online-Anmeldung

 

Online-Anmeldungen zur Aufnahmeprüfung sind grundsätzlich jederzeit möglich, kostenlos und unverbindlich. Sie dienen zur Feststellung von praktisch-theoretischen Vorkenntnisse und ob diese ausreichend sind, um in den gewünschten Studiengang aufgenommen zu werden (anderenfalls können auch alternative Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten vorgeschlagen werden). Die Aufnahmeprüfungen finden in der Regel zu folgenden Terminen statt:

 

Für das Wintersemester (Studienbeginn September): Mai/Juni*

Für das Sommersemester (Studienbeginn Februar): November/Dezember*

Details zur Aufnahmeprüfung

*Alternativ dazu können auch davon abweichende Termine vergeben werden.