top of page
Music Business Study Vienna

Music Business

Study profile

The quality of the Music Business program at VMI lies primarily in the practice-oriented implementation of management tasks in combination with the integration into an internationally oriented community of active musicians and creative professionals. As a result, students work in a practice-oriented manner from the very beginning, gain valuable experience in the implementation of a wide variety of tasks, and establish contacts with music creators from different fields. The course thus represents a creative and exciting encounter with one of today's essential areas of the international music industry and lays the foundation for a successful professional career in the music business

Study focus

  •  Teaching of business and marketing structures;

  •  Implementation of practice-oriented concert and event management;

  •  Development of project plans and project organizations;

  •  Creation of timelines and implementation strategies;

  •  Dealing with artist management and branding;

  •  Examination of criteria for successful artist management;

  •  Teaching skills for the music industry and music economics;

  •  Business strategies of the entertainment industry and establishment processes;

  •  Dealing with financing concepts and sponsoring;

  •  Dealing with media law and collecting societies;

  •  Acquisition of knowledge in music theory and musicology;

  •  Communication and media, cross-media practice and contolling;

  •  Music business, market analyses, promotion and marketing;

Study description

In the Music Business degree program, students acquire essential skills and qualifications for professional artist and event management in order to be able to work independently or for various clients and companies after completing their studies. These include, for example, concert agencies, music production companies, PR and communications agencies, multimedia companies, TV and radio stations, film and theater productions, musicians, record labels and the like. The course content includes basic and specialized knowledge from the fields of music business, media design, musicology, music theory as well as media law, artist, concert and event management and is completed by a wide range of theoretical and practical subjects. The program ends with a nationally and internationally recognized degree that entitles students to pursue further master's studies.

Music Business Study Vienna

Study Details

Start: February and September

Duration of study: 6 semesters

Credits: 180 ECTS

Prerequisites: Previous practical and theoretical knowledge, as well as an online registration for the entrance examination (audition). Persons from non-EU countries need a valid residence permit (student visa) at the beginning of their studies, which can be applied for after successful completion of the entrance examination.

Prior studies: Courses or years of study previously completed at other educational institutions may be credited toward the degree program and shorten the duration of the study accordingly.

Teachers: Training is provided by a professional team of internationally active musicians, composers, and music educators, as well as experts from the music industry, creative industries, studio technology, and musicology.

Curriculum: Study plan / Completion plan

Semester abroad: Being awarded the Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE) by the European Union enables students of the VMI to study at a partner University of the VMI within their education with financial support for the duration of 3-12 months. In addition, funded internships abroad can be completed at various European institutions and companies in the international music industry.

Degree: The program ends with a nationally and internationally recognized degree. According to the Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research, the certificates and diplomas issued by the VMI are equivalent to those of state Universities and Colleges, are comparable to a Bachelor's degree and therefore entitle the holder to pursue further master's studies*.

Follow-up studies: Within the framework of a cooperation agreement with the ICMP Institute of Contemporary Music Performance, a London-based partner University of the VMI, there is the possibility of obtaining the academic degrees of Bachelor or Master through a two-semester period of study at the ICMP, while at the same time gaining valuable experience in the musical metropolis of London.

Tuition fees:

€ 120 one-time enrollment fee

€ 450 monthly tuition fee

Details on tuition and scholarships

*Further studies at other educational institutions are subject to the availability of free study places as well as the admission requirements of the respective university or college, over which VMI naturally has no influence, but can provide assistance with applications, especially to partner universities and partner colleges.

Online registration

Online registrations for the entrance examination are basically possible at any time, free of charge and without obligation. They are used to determine prior practical-theoretical knowledge and whether this is sufficient to be accepted into the desired course of study (otherwise, alternative training options may be suggested). The entrance examinations usually take place on the following dates:

For the winter semester (start of studies in September): May/June*

For the summer semester (start of studies in February): November/December*

Details on the entrance examination

*Alternatively, other dates may be assigned.

Supporting industry partners:

download.png
334142767_743570100451651_5832534976852171531_n.png
333657680_143224945000025_6856724546458742511_n.png
334156016_439713554993741_837053997493969072_n.png
261962543_264239405742015_2274969062079162554_n.png
328324485_1373713776695224_111569554228523951_n.png
Ik_logo_Print_hexagon_headline_black_red_CMYK-min.jpg
333091601_3543362569226650_4909689838638860095_n.png
333859542_1503353696857611_3913941600513756606_n.png
316307549_1602911176829755_6514818342963569982_n.png
333907119_497047865976403_4783058314215295745_n.png
334039334_1693482891153305_4907389801509441625_n.png
334009560_627353192551727_5705434279808650236_n.png
bottom of page

Music Business Study Vienna

Music Business

Studienbeschreibung

Im Studiengang Music Business erwerben die Studierenden wesentliche Kompetenzen und Qualifikationen für ein professionelles Künstler- und Event-Management, um nach absolviertem Studium selbstständig oder für verschiedene Auftraggeber und Firmen tätig sein zu können. Dazu zählen beispielsweise Konzertagenturen, Musikproduktionsfirmen, PR- und Kommunikationsagenturen, Multimedia-Firmen, TV- und Hörfunksender, Film- und Theaterproduktionen, Musiker*innen, Plattenlabels und ähnliches mehr. Die Lehrinhalte umfassen Grundlagen und Spezialwissen aus den Bereichen der Musikwirtschaft, Mediengestaltung, Musikwissenschaft, Musiktheorie sowie des Medienrechts, Künstler-, Konzert- und Event-Managements und werden durch verschiedenste theoretische und praktische Unterrichtsfächer komplettiert. Abgeschlossen wird das Studium mit einem staatlich und international anerkannten Studienabschluss, der zu weiterführenden Masterstudien berechtigt.

Studienprofil

Die Qualität des Studiengangs Music Business am VMI liegt vor allem in der praxisorientierten Umsetzung von Managementaufgaben in Kombination mit der Einbindung in eine international ausgerichteten Community von aktiven Musiker*innen und Kreativschaffenden. Dadurch arbeiten die Studierenden von Anfang an praxisbezogen, sammeln wertvolle Erfahrungen in der Umsetzung verschiedenster Aufgaben und knüpfen Kontakte zu Musikschaffenden aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen. Die Ausbildung stellt somit eine kreative und spannende Auseinandersetzung mit einem der heutzutage wesentlichen Bereiche der internationalen Musikbranche dar und schafft das Fundament für eine erfolgreiche berufliche Karriere im Music Business.

Studienschwerpunkte

  •  Vermittlung von Business und Marketing Strukturen;

  •  Umsetzung eines praxisorientierten Konzert- und Eventmanagements;

  •  Ausarbeitung von Projektplanungen und Projektorganisationen;

  •  Erstellen von Timelines und Umsetzungsstrategien;

  •  Beschäftigung mit Künstlermanagement und Branding;

  •  Auseinandersetzung mit Kriterien für ein erfolgreiches Künstlermanagement;

  •  Vermittlung von Kenntnissen für die Bereiche Musikindustrie und Musikökonomie;

  •  Businessstrategien der Unterhaltungsindustrie und Etablierungsprozesse;

  •  Beschäftigung mit Finanzierungskonzepten und Sponsoring;

  •  Auseinandersetzung mit Medienrecht und Verwertungsgesellschaften;

  •  Wissenserwerb in musiktheoretischen und musikwissenschaftlichen Bereichen;

  •  Kommunikation und Medien, crossmediale Praxis und Contolling;

  •  Musikwirtschaft, Marktanalysen, Promotion und Marketing;

Music Business Study Vienna

Studiendetails

Studienbeginn: Februar und September

Studiendauer: 6 Semester

Credits: 180 ECTS

Voraussetzungen: Praktische und theoretische Vorkenntnisse sowie eine Online-Anmeldung zur Aufnahmeprüfung (Audition). Personen aus Nicht-EU-Ländern benötigen bei Studienbeginn eine gültige Aufenthaltsgenehmigung (Studenten-Visa), welche nach erfolgreicher Absolvierung der Aufnahmeprüfung beantragt werden kann.

Vorstudien: Bereits zuvor an anderen Bildungseinrichtungen absolvierte Lehrveranstaltungen oder Studienjahre können für das Studium angerechnet werden und die Studiendauer entsprechend verkürzen.

Lehrende: Die Ausbildung erfolgt durch ein professionelles Team von international tätigen Musiker*innen, Komponist*innen, und Musikpädagog*innen sowie Fachpersonen aus der Musikindustrie, Kreativwirtschaft, Studiotechnik und Musikwissenschaft.

Curriculum: Studienplan / Absolvierungsplan

Auslandssemester: Die Verleihung der Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE) durch die Europäische Union ermöglicht Studierenden des VMI innerhalb ihrer Ausbildung mit finanzieller Unterstützung für die Dauer von 3-12 Monaten an einer Partneruniversität des VMI zu studieren. Zudem können geförderte Auslandspraktika bei verschiedenen europäischen Institutionen und Firmen der internationalen Musikwirtschaft absolviert werden.

Studienabschluss: Abgeschlossen wird das Studium mit einem staatlich und international anerkannten Studienabschluss. Die vom VMI ausgestellten Zeugnisse und Diplome sind lt. Bundesministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Forschung jenen von staatlichen Universitäten und Hochschulen gleichgestellt, mit einem Bachelorstudium vergleichbar und berechtigen daher zu weiterführenden Masterstudien*.

Anschlussstudium: Im Rahmen eines Kooperationsabkommens mit dem ICMP-Institute of Contemporary Music Performance, einer in London ansässigen Partnerhochschule des VMI, besteht die Möglichkeit, die akademischen Grade Bachelor oder Master durch eine zwei Semester dauernde Studienzeit am ICMP zu erlangen und gleichzeitig wertvolle Erfahrungen in der Musikmetropole London zu sammeln.

Studiengebühren:

€ 120 einmalige Einschreibegebühr

€ 450 monatliche Studiengebühren

Details zu Studiengebühren und Stipendien

*Weiterführende Studien an anderen Bildungseinrichtungen richten sich nach der Verfügbarkeit freier Studienplätze sowie den Aufnahmebedingungen der jeweiligen Universität oder Hochschule, auf die das VMI naturgemäß keinen Einfluss hat, aber Unterstützung bei der Bewerbung, insbesondere an Partneruniversitäten und Partnerhochschulen, leisten kann.

Online-Anmeldung

Online-Anmeldungen zur Aufnahmeprüfung sind grundsätzlich jederzeit möglich, kostenlos und unverbindlich. Sie dienen zur Feststellung von praktisch-theoretischen Vorkenntnisse und ob diese ausreichend sind, um in den gewünschten Studiengang aufgenommen zu werden (anderenfalls können auch alternative Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten vorgeschlagen werden). Die Aufnahmeprüfungen finden in der Regel zu folgenden Terminen statt:

 

Für das Wintersemester (Studienbeginn September): Mai/Juni*

Für das Sommersemester (Studienbeginn Februar): November/Dezember*

Details zur Aufnahmeprüfung

*Alternativ dazu können auch davon abweichende Termine vergeben werden.