top of page
Creative Musicianship Vienna

creative musicianship

Study profile

The focus of this study program is on the special promotion of creativity and musical practice. The course content covers a wide range of applications of modern music and combines these with music theory, musicology, studio technology, music performance as well as weekly singing or instrumental lessons in cross-genre contexts. This includes, for example, collaboration with songwriters, performance artists, actors, dancers, filmmakers, music producers, and an exploration of music marketing. The project-oriented collaboration with students from other degree programs is an integral part of this education and makes it possible to test and implement the taught content as part of an internationally oriented community in a practice-oriented form during the study period.

Study focus

  •  Teaching instrumental, vocal and compositional music-making practices;

  •  Learning practical artistic skills in singing or on the chosen instrument;

  •  Creative project development and musical as well as cross-genre realization;

  •  Acquisition of performative and improvisational skills;

  •  Development of technique, rhythm and phrasing;

  •  Implementation of melodic and harmonic design possibilities;

  •  Exploration of creative identity, music theory, and reharmonization;

  •  Learning basic and advanced composition and arrangement rules;

  •  Exposure to areas of music theory and musicology;

  •  Training of the musical ear and study of acoustics;

  •  Examination of media law, management and marketing;

  •  Mechanisms of the music industry and business strategies in the entertainment industry;

  •  Development of a repertoire with a focus on creative musical realization;

  •  Development of an individual and comprehensively trained artist personality;

Study description

The Creative Musicianship degree program combines an artistic-musical education with various other creative fields, such as music performance, music production, music management, songwriting or multimedia. By complementing courses in music theory, musicology, media law and business administration, the program offers a comprehensive education for creative musicianship and thus creates the basis for a professional career in various fields of activity. The program ends with a nationally and internationally recognized degree that entitles students to pursue further master's studies.

Creative Musicianship Vienna

Study Details

Start: February and September

Duration of study: 8 semesters

Credits: 240 ECTS

Prerequisites: Previous practical and theoretical knowledge, as well as online registration for the entrance examination (audition). Persons from non-EU countries need a valid residence permit (student visa) at the beginning of their studies, which can be applied for after the successful completion of the entrance examination.

Prior studies: Courses or years of study previously completed at other educational institutions may be credited toward the degree program and shorten the duration of the study accordingly.

Teachers: Training is provided by a professional team of internationally active musicians, composers, and music educators, as well as experts from the music industry, creative industries, studio technology, and musicology.

Curriculum: Study plan / Completion plan

Semester abroad: Being awarded the Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE) by the European Union enables students of the VMI to study at a partner University of the VMI within their education with financial support for the duration of 3-12 months. In addition, funded internships abroad can be completed at various European institutions and companies in the international music industry.

Degree: The program ends with a nationally and internationally recognized degree. According to the Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research, the certificates and diplomas issued by the VMI are equivalent to those of state Universities and Colleges, are comparable to a Bachelor's degree and therefore entitle the holder to pursue further master's studies*.

Follow-up studies: Within the framework of a cooperation agreement with the ICMP Institute of Contemporary Music Performance, a London-based partner University of the VMI, there is the possibility of obtaining the academic degrees of Bachelor or Master through a two-semester period of study at the ICMP, while at the same time gaining valuable experience in the musical metropolis of London.

Tuition fees:

€ 120 one-time enrollment fee

€ 450 monthly tuition fee

Details on tuition and scholarships

*Further studies at other educational institutions are subject to the availability of free study places as well as the admission requirements of the respective university or college, over which VMI naturally has no influence, but can provide assistance with applications, especially to partner universities and partner colleges.

Online registration

Online registrations for the entrance examination are basically possible at any time, free of charge and without obligation. They are used to determine prior practical-theoretical knowledge and whether this is sufficient to be accepted into the desired course of study (otherwise, alternative training options may be suggested). The entrance examinations usually take place on the following dates:

For the winter semester (start of studies in September): May/June*

For the summer semester (start of studies in February): November/December*

Details on the entrance examination

*Alternatively, other dates may be assigned.

Supporting industry partners:

download.png
334142767_743570100451651_5832534976852171531_n.png
333657680_143224945000025_6856724546458742511_n.png
334156016_439713554993741_837053997493969072_n.png
261962543_264239405742015_2274969062079162554_n.png
328324485_1373713776695224_111569554228523951_n.png
Ik_logo_Print_hexagon_headline_black_red_CMYK-min.jpg
333091601_3543362569226650_4909689838638860095_n.png
333859542_1503353696857611_3913941600513756606_n.png
316307549_1602911176829755_6514818342963569982_n.png
333907119_497047865976403_4783058314215295745_n.png
334039334_1693482891153305_4907389801509441625_n.png
334009560_627353192551727_5705434279808650236_n.png
bottom of page

Creative Musicianship Vienna

creative musicianship

Studienbeschreibung

Der Studiengang Creative Musicianship verbindet eine künstlerisch-musikalische Ausbildung mit verschiedenen anderen Kreativitätsbereichen, wie z.B. Musikperformance, Musikproduktion, Musikmanagement, Songwriting oder Multimedia. Durch die Ergänzung von musiktheoretischen, musikwissenschaftlichen, medienrechtlichen und betriebswirtschaftlichen Lehrveranstaltungen bietet das Studium eine umfassende Ausbildung zum kreativen Musikschaffenden und schafft somit die Basis für eine professionelle Karriere auf verschiedenen Betätigungsfeldern. Abgeschlossen wird das Studium mit einem staatlich und international anerkannten Studienabschluss, der zu weiterführenden Masterstudien berechtigt.

Studienprofil

Der Fokus dieses Studiengangs liegt in der speziellen Förderung von Kreativität und musikalischer Praxis. Die Lehrinhalte umfassen dabei verschiedenste Anwendungsbereiche der modernen Musik und verbinden diese mit Musiktheorie, Musikwissenschaft, Studiotechnik, Musikperformance sowie wöchentlichem Gesangs- oder Instrumentalunterricht in genreübergreifenden Kontexten. Dazu zählt beispielsweise die Zusammenarbeit mit Songwritern, Performance-Künstler*innen, Schauspieler*innen, Tänzer*innen, Filmemacher*innen, Musikproduzent*innen sowie die Auseinandersetzung mit Musikmarketing. Die projektorientierte Zusammenarbeit mit Studierenden aus anderen Studiengängen ist ein integraler Bestandteil dieser Ausbildung und ermöglicht es, die vermittelten Lehrinhalte als Teil einer international ausgerichteten Community bereits während der Studienzeit in praxisorientierter Form zu erproben und umzusetzen.

Studienschwerpunkte

  •  Vermittlung von instrumentalen, vokalen und kompositorischen Musizierpraktiken;

  •  Erlernen von praktisch-künstlerischer Fertigkeiten in Gesang oder am gewählten Instrument;

  •  Kreative Projektausarbeitung und musikalische sowie genreübergreifende Umsetzung;

  •  Aneignung von performativen und improvisatorischen Fähigkeiten;

  •  Ausbau der Technik, Rhythmik und Phrasierung;

  •  Umsetzung von melodischen und harmonischen Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten;

  •  Auseinandersetzung mit Creative Identity, Musiktheorie und Reharmonisation;

  •  Erlernen grundlegender und erweiterter Kompositions- und Arrangementregeln;

  •  Beschäftigung mit musiktheoretischen und musikwissenschaftlichen Bereichen;

  •  Schulung des musikalischen Gehörs und Beschäftigung mit Akustik;

  •  Auseinandersetzung mit Medienrecht, Management und Marketing;

  •  Mechanismen der Musikindustrie und Business Strategien in der Unterhaltungsindustrie;

  •  Erarbeitung eines Repertoires mit Fokus auf die kreative musikalische Umsetzung;

  •  Entwicklung einer individuellen und umfassend geschulten Künstlerpersönlichkeit;

Creative Musicianship Vienna

Studiendetails

Studienbeginn: Februar und September

Studiendauer: 8 Semester

Credits: 240 ECTS

Voraussetzungen: Praktische und theoretische Vorkenntnisse sowie eine Online-Anmeldung zur Aufnahmeprüfung (Audition). Personen aus Nicht-EU-Ländern benötigen bei Studienbeginn eine gültige Aufenthaltsgenehmigung (Studenten-Visa), welche nach erfolgreicher Absolvierung der Aufnahmeprüfung beantragt werden kann.

Vorstudien: Bereits zuvor an anderen Bildungseinrichtungen absolvierte Lehrveranstaltungen oder Studienjahre können für das Studium angerechnet werden und die Studiendauer entsprechend verkürzen.

Lehrende: Die Ausbildung erfolgt durch ein professionelles Team von international tätigen Musiker*innen, Komponist*innen, und Musikpädagog*innen sowie Fachpersonen aus der Musikindustrie, Kreativwirtschaft, Studiotechnik und Musikwissenschaft.

Curriculum: Studienplan / Absolvierungsplan

Auslandssemester: Die Verleihung der Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE) durch die Europäische Union ermöglicht Studierenden des VMI innerhalb ihrer Ausbildung mit finanzieller Unterstützung für die Dauer von 3-12 Monaten an einer Partneruniversität des VMI zu studieren. Zudem können geförderte Auslandspraktika bei verschiedenen europäischen Institutionen und Firmen der internationalen Musikwirtschaft absolviert werden.

Studienabschluss: Abgeschlossen wird das Studium mit einem staatlich und international anerkannten Studienabschluss. Die vom VMI ausgestellten Zeugnisse und Diplome sind lt. Bundesministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Forschung jenen von staatlichen Universitäten und Hochschulen gleichgestellt, mit einem Bachelorstudium vergleichbar und berechtigen daher zu weiterführenden Masterstudien*.

Anschlussstudium: Im Rahmen eines Kooperationsabkommens mit dem ICMP-Institute of Contemporary Music Performance, einer in London ansässigen Partnerhochschule des VMI, besteht die Möglichkeit, die akademischen Grade Bachelor oder Master durch eine zwei Semester dauernde Studienzeit am ICMP zu erlangen und gleichzeitig wertvolle Erfahrungen in der Musikmetropole London zu sammeln.

Studiengebühren:

€ 120 einmalige Einschreibegebühr

€ 450 monatliche Studiengebühren

Details zu Studiengebühren und Stipendien

*Weiterführende Studien an anderen Bildungseinrichtungen richten sich nach der Verfügbarkeit freier Studienplätze sowie den Aufnahmebedingungen der jeweiligen Universität oder Hochschule, auf die das VMI naturgemäß keinen Einfluss hat, aber Unterstützung bei der Bewerbung, insbesondere an Partneruniversitäten und Partnerhochschulen, leisten kann.

Online-Anmeldung

 

Online-Anmeldungen zur Aufnahmeprüfung sind grundsätzlich jederzeit möglich, kostenlos und unverbindlich. Sie dienen zur Feststellung von praktisch-theoretischen Vorkenntnisse und ob diese ausreichend sind, um in den gewünschten Studiengang aufgenommen zu werden (anderenfalls können auch alternative Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten vorgeschlagen werden). Die Aufnahmeprüfungen finden in der Regel zu folgenden Terminen statt:

 

Für das Wintersemester (Studienbeginn September): Mai/Juni*

Für das Sommersemester (Studienbeginn Februar): November/Dezember*

Details zur Aufnahmeprüfung

*Alternativ dazu können auch davon abweichende Termine vergeben werden.